of Mines was separated from other portfolios, with a Minister of its own, but the Fisheries Department is now associated with that of Mines. Lands and Public Works, which had long been under one Minister, were separated in 1908. In 1916, Agriculture, previously under the jurisdiction of the Minister of Finance, became a Department with a Minister of its own.

Legislative.—Unlike Quebec and Nova Scotia, British Columbia has a single chamber legislature, consisting of 47 members. The first Assembly after Confederation had 25 members, but redistribution has been necessitated from time to time by increase of population, especially in the cities. Vancouver's representation has been increased from 2 members in 1894 to 6 at present, elected at large. Victoria returns 4 members, while the other 36 ridings are onemember constituencies. The term of the Legislative Assembly, formerly four years, was increased to five years in 1913 by amendment to the Constitution Act. The sessional indemnity of members is \$2,000, and an allowance of \$2,000 is made to the recognized leader of the opposition in addition to his indemnity. The Speaker's additional allowance is \$1,800, and that of the Deputy-Speaker \$500.

Judicial.—The courts of the Province in the order of authority are as follows:

1. Court of Appeal, consisting of a Chief Justice and four puisne judges styled Justices of Appeal. The appellate jurisdiction of this Court is wide, covering appeals from all judgments and orders of the Supreme Court, appeals from the County Courts, appeals from the opinion of a Judge of the Supreme Court on constitutional questions referred to him by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council, etc. It is also the Court of Appeal for the Province in all criminal cases under the Criminal Code of Canada.

2. The Supreme Court, consisting of a chief justice and five puisne judges. It has general jurisdiction throughout the Province as a superior Court of Record, and there are certain appeals under provincial legislation which are heard before it. Its jurisdiction is exercisable by each individual judge as and for the Court.

3. County Courts, of which there are nine. These have jurisdiction in all personal actions where the amount involved does not exceed \$1,000; in actions of ejectment where the value of the premises does not exceed \$2,500; in equity cases where the amount involved does not exceed \$2,500. They have wide jurisdiction under the provincial mining acts, and upon appeals from Small Debts Courts. The administration of criminal justice is also largely in their hands.

4. Small Debts Courts, with jurisdiction in personal actions up to \$100. They are presided over by judges appointed by the provincial government.

In addition to above Courts there are many stipendiary magistrates and justices of the peace, exercising a more or less limited jurisdiction under the Criminal Code of Canada as well as under the Summary Convictions Act.

40